Awaiting Adventure

By Morgan Halane

Welcome to my blog!  Basically, this will serve as a journal for my study abroad experience in England.  I’ll update it often, and you’ll find new updates here whenever I experience something interesting and worth sharing.  As the saying goes, a picture is worth a thousand words, so I’ll also upload photos to highlight specific events when possible.

Since this is my very first post, I thought I’d say exactly where I’ll be headed and what I’ll be doing there.  I’m going to be studying at Lancaster University in Northwest England for one semester.  The classes I take in England will transfer back to the U.S. as Mizzou course credit.  Reading up on the town of Lancaster I’ve discovered that it’s a town about half the size of Columbia situated near the famous Lake District and located roughly halfway between the cities of London and Edinburgh, Scotland.  A relatively new university, Lancaster is commonly ranked in the top ten universities in the United Kingdom and has established itself as a leading European university.

I fly to England in mid-August and will come back to the U.S. just before Christmas.  This will be only my second time out of the country, the first being a trip to Toronto in 2001 with my dad and sister.  This will also be the longest stretch of time I will have experienced being away from friends and family, so I’m nervous, but the excitement to immerse myself within a different culture, meet new people and be challenged by a unique academic system eclipses those nerves.  Awaiting adventure…

Leave a Reply

