London

By Morgan Halane

I’ve made several trips to the capital city of England in my short time here.  I’ve found that the overall opinion of London appears to be mixed among citizens of the UK.  Some people seem to love it, and some really don’t care for it.  In my opinion, the city is so large and each section so different that it would be difficult for anyone, especially an American such as myself, to come up with an opinion of the city in a few words, so I won’t make an attempt at that.  What I can say is that I’ve enjoyed much of what the city has to offer.  I found the Underground, the city’s rapid transit system akin to the New York subway, extremely easy to navigate, and it’s never been necessary to walk more than a few blocks (although I have).  One thing I was warned about before visiting London was the cost.  Yes, London is an expensive city.  I quickly found my way around this obstacle, however, by eating at inexpensive chain restaurants, such as Burger King, and taking advantage of the free attractions.

Sir Richard Owen, Lancaster native and inventor of the word 'dinosaur'

Two of the more interesting places I visited on my most recent trip were the Natural History Museum and the British Museum, both highly acclaimed institutions.  I really enjoyed the Natural History Museum, and my favorite part of it was the Earth Galleries section.  This section included an earthquake simulation, a “treasury” of precious gemstones and metals, and a hands-on display of different rocks found on our planet.  The dinosaur exhibit was also excellent.

Outside of the Natural History Museum

I next took a trip on the Tube to the British Museum.  This museum was very fascinating, but I found it to be absolutely overwhelming.  I spent a great deal of time in the museum and felt as though I’d barely scratched the surface.  The exhibits were just so extensive and densely filled with priceless artifacts that I found myself jumping from one room to the next without looking at any one thing in too much detail.  One could easily spend a day in this museum, and I would definitely recommend setting aside at least several hours when planning a visit there.  I concluded my day in London by seeing an inexpensive play at the Donmar Warehouse in the West End called Inadmissible Evidence.  I found the play to be excellent, especially because the tickets were so reasonably priced.  The theater was very small, so every seat was close to the stage.  At the end of the play I was able to meet Karen Gillan, who currently is on Doctor Who playing the role of Amy Pond, and also get my program signed by her.  It was definitely a great way to end the day.

Leave a Reply

