Two Days in Paris

By Cassi Greenlee

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Two days in Paris is not nearly enough, because you would need years to appreciate all the City of Light has to offer. However, I’d like to think I did fairly well at fitting a large chunk of the city into my brief trip.

Day 1

At the start of my first day, I wasted no time in getting ready and waking up my friend and guide, Lindsay (a Mizzou student also studying abroad). We headed out to the Louvre first and walked through the Italian (the Mona Lisa) and French halls. I was a little disappointed that was all I had time to see because as we were leaving, I saw the sign for the Crown Jewels and I considered running backwards down the escalator to get a look. But, alas, I had to keep moving because there was so much to do and so little time. After stopping for some lunch, Lindsay and I headed towards the Arch de Triomphe, along the Champs Elysees. After what seemed to be only a quick glance, we were moving on again, this time to the Eiffel Tower. I knew I had to see it, because if I didn’t, friends back home would have wondered if I really went to France at all. So, after snagging a few photographs, I sat and ate my chocolate and banana crepe, while admiring the symbol of Paris. I don’t know what was better — the crepe or the Eiffel Tower. This is because I had spent many hours in my apartment in Nice trying to make crepes, to no avail. I just don’t know how they flip those things… After all that walking around, I was exhausted and Lindsay and I headed back to her apartment to change to go out for a real French dinner. It was amazing. I had the goose and potatoes and it was like nothing I had eaten before. And, like the crepe, it’s probably best if I don’t ever try to recreate it.

Day 2

Like Day 1, Day 2 started off with an early alarm and me jumping eagerly out of bed. Lindsay and I were heading to Versailles. It was a foggy, chilly morning in Paris, extremely peaceful compared to the hustle and bustle of a Friday afternoon. As we walked toward the Metro and sipped our coffees, we passed Notre Dame and Shakespeare’s books. The train to Versailles didn’t seem very long and before we knew it, we were there. The Palace was amazing. Just as ornate as I had imagined. Gold everywhere. As I walked around with the audio-guide to my ear, I was mesmerized by all the history. But, once again, I had to keep moving. We left Versailles and headed to Monmartre to see the Moulin Rouge (one of my favorite films). After seeing the famous windmill, which took all of about 20 seconds, we hiked up to the hill to Sacre Coeur, for the most spectacular view I’ve seen in Europe yet. A perfect end to a perfect day.

Leave a Reply

