Italy — Just Couldn’t Stay Away

By Cassi Greenlee

After visiting Rome, I was enchanted. Driving through the Italian countryside and seeing the mountains and valleys, and the olive trees and vineyards in perfect rows everywhere, made me realize I would have to return to Italy. I realized I had a Facebook friend studying abroad in Florence. We had gone to high school together but ran in different circles. We knew about each other but didn’t really know each other. I took a chance and asked if she would mind hosting me for a weekend and she warmly accepted!

I ended up liking Florence even better than Rome.  I was constantly walking and eating. Pizza, biscotti, coffees, gelato, it was all amazing. Florence felt much more relaxed than Rome, less touristy but still tons of activities to fill a weekend with.

Leave a Reply

