Christmastime

By Morgan Halane

There’s an old saying that time flies when you’re having fun.  It’s hard for me to believe that I have less than a week left here in England.  While I’m busy working on final essays and exams I haven’t had a lot of time to think about everything that I’m going to miss when I go back to America, but I already know that I will certainly miss all of the people I’ve met here and the friends I’ve made.  As my time here draws to a close, I’m filled with very mixed emotions.  Yes, there are certain things I’ll miss that have defined my time in England, but I’m also very much looking forward to getting back to America, my family and Mizzou.  All things must come to an end, and I can say that I’m ready to head back.  What I plan on doing is making the most of the little amount of time I have left.  The Christmas season is in full swing, and Lancaster has definitely embraced the Christmas spirit.  The town itself has been spruced up with decorations and colorful lights, and the university has done the same.

Part of a gingerbread man

One of the more interesting things I experienced was a Christmas festival on campus.  There were several stalls selling deserts and savory foods of all kinds, along with many different kinds of Christmas-themed  gifts.  My favorite part of the festival was that there were reindeer on-site that we were allowed to pet.  After going to the Christmas festival I joined some of my American friends for a Christmas-themed gathering.  It was great chatting with some of the friends I’ve made for at least one more day before we all go our separate ways.

Leave a Reply

