Last Day in Lancaster

By Morgan Halane

I write this as I’m packing up my things.  Today is my last day in Lancaster.  I’m feeling a mixture of emotions right now.  On the one hand I’m genuinely excited to get back to America.  I haven’t seen my family or old friends in a very long time, and there are many things about America that England doesn’t offer.  On the other hand, I’m really going to miss the experiences I’ve had and all of the wonderful people I’ve met here.  Saying goodbye is never easy, and over the past couple of days I’ve had to say more goodbyes than I expected to.  I would’ve never been able to predict how much I’ve grown to care about some of the people I’ve met here, Americans and Britons and citizens from across the globe, and every time I say goodbye to someone I’ve been friends with I hold onto the hope that I might see them again while at the same time realizing that there must be those who I’ll probably never see again.

It snowed for the first time since I've been in Lancaster on my last day in Lancaster

What I will take with me are the memories of this time I’ve shared with others in England.  I’ve become so used to living in Lancaster that it’s beginning to feel like a home away from home.  Many of the cultural differences which shocked me when I first got here now seem normal.  Going back to America will definitely give me another culture shock as I enter back into life at Mizzou.  I don’t know how transitioning back will feel, but it might be like another study abroad experience, getting used to things which England might’ve made me not used to.  It’s been an epic, four-month-long journey, but it’s a journey that has made me a better person and it’s a journey I don’t regret going on.

My friends Sam and Chris after our final pool match

Leave a Reply

