Hweshik by the Mountainside

Hweshik is a Korean word that literally means “to dine,” and it is common for teachers to occasionally attend Hweshik together. Last Friday, I was invited to my first one and I had an amazing time! But before reaching our dining destination the principal and some other teachers stopped off by the mountainside.

It was easily one of the most beautiful places I had ever been too. It was rainy and cold, but it didn’t even matter. I was walking across a lake that was surrounded by mountains, and I could not believe my eyes! …Or the fact that a place like this exists so near my school and where I live.

On this adventure before dinner, I also had a chance to get to know my teachers a little better in a more informal setting. Sometimes it is hard to build relationships if there is a language barrier, but to me it is always worth a try, and all the teachers at Chilbo are very kind. I even gave a few of them English names before dinner.

After this we went to a really nice dinner and all the teachers were there. It was so delicious, and I had never had some of the food that was served before. I’m pretty sure I ate duck for the first time, and I loved it! The best part though was getting to know people  better since I don’t see the teachers very often while I’m teaching. When dinner was finished, we went to another location and had tea and coffee. It was such a relaxing cafe. It smelled like incense and the whole thing was made of cobblestone.

I dont know why but when I looked out of the window when we were inside, I had one of those “I can’t believe I’m actually in Korea” thoughts. I love my life.

Leave a Reply

