The Shilla Ancient History Museum

In the last post I talked about a visit to Shilla Millennium Park. Well that was just one small part of my experience in Gyeongju, S.K. After experiencing a more life-like version of what it might have been like to walk through the streets of the Shilla Dynasty, we were taken to read about the history and see actual artifacts from this time period at the Shilla Ancient History Museum. It was pretty packed, so I didn’t have much time to see everything or really stand around and read in depth about what I was seeing, but I did take note of my favorite selections…

This was a clay pot that was very popular among the tourists there. The detail was magnificently crafted, and a beautiful piece of artwork.

Half of a giant silver platter engraved with very intricate designs and what I think is a dragon . Something like this would have been owned by someone very wealthy, in this case a royal.

This is one of my favorite pieces. It was a golden jeweled dagger. It reminded me of something you might see in a movie that a prince would carry around.

This  was the main attraction, but since it was roped off it was hard to get a proper picture. It is a golden crown that was once owned by the king of the Shilla dynasty. It is made of pure gold, and I thought I was looking back into time when I saw it.

A bell preserved for over 1000 years and still in good condition.

The rest of the pictures are just a glimpse of what history we found outside of the museum.

And of course a photo op with the dutiful soldiers of Korea. Actually it is really interesting because the military system is very different in Korea than in the United States. At the age of 18, Korean men have a duty to serve the military for two years without much contact to their normal, everyday life. They aren’t allowed cell phones, and they only get about 10 days vacation every six months. Since it is a “duty” to their country, the pay is pretty much nothing, but at least they are taken care of for the entire time, and I’ve got to say Korea’s young men are very very fit and healthy in comparison to my hometown.

Leave a Reply

