Happy birthday, Buddha!

Buddha’s birthday is celebrated by many in South Korea, so teachers are granted a long weekend. My friends and I decided to make our way down south to a seaside city called Busan to give our birthday wishes. In Busan, there is a Buddhist temple unique to any other because it is built on a cliff that overlooks the ocean. While most temples sit atop mountains, the Haedong Yonggunsa temple has a clear ocean view. And for Buddha’s birthday it was decorated with hundreds of colorful lanterns, which made this temple one of the most outsanding sites I have seen during my time in Korea. I don’t think explaining the scenery can do it justice, so here are my favorite pictures from the trip.

Let me introduce you to Big Buddha…

Looking down at the temple

Another temple view

A Buddhist temple monk

Prayers

Good luck charms

A ceiling of lanterns

And more lanterns…

Leave a Reply

