Pre-departure post: Alicante bound

By Brittney Durbin

All right. I’m going to start off by saying that this is my very first blog.

EVER.

So those of you who are reading this and have more experience than myself, please have a bit of patience. I promise I’ll get better (starting off with more creative titles…ha).

In fact, since I’m being honest, I tried to write this post two days ago. I figured out everything I wanted to say, saved it to a word document and then went to post it… Only to be declined since I had not properly set up my account.

Anyway, I’m thankful that it didn’t work because between Saturday night when I was sitting on my parents’ couch watching a movie with my family, and right now sitting at the USO in Philadelphia, I feel completely different.

Before, I shared of my abounding excitement — and don’t get me wrong, I’m totally thrilled for this trip. But now, I am also scared and anxious about the unknown. Okay, the word “unknown” is probably over-exagerated because my Mizzou study abroad adviser, Miguel (who is AWESOME by the way), has done a spectacular job of helping me through this process. Additionally, the people from CIEE flood my inbox with so many emails full of all sorts of information that I pretty much understand what I am getting into. Which I am extremely grateful for, but for me, it still feels like the unknown.

Therefore, since I’m not 100 percent sure I feel the need to bring essentially my entire life… Exhibit A:

The ironic thing is, I have two parents who are former military.  For all practicality, they are professional packers. I guess when you move around every three to four years and have deployments and trips in-between, these skills become second nature.  However, as you can see, even with their help, I’m pretty sure I over-packed.

Guess time will tell.

I will leave you with one last thing…

WARNING: The goodbyes are the hardest part of this whole study abroad process. Not the applications, or the checklist, or even the grueling task of packing for months…

It’s the goodbyes.

I know I found it difficult because I am blessed with spectacular people in my life. I normally try not to brag, but it is necessary in this instance. I would not be the person I am today without my support system. Therefore, when it came time to say goodbye, I felt like part of me was getting left behind. It feels sort of like when you leave the house and know you forgot something important, only a hundred million times worse. I can’t explain it fully, but if you ever have to go through the same experience, or you already have, you’ll understand.

However, when I parted with these special people they reminded me of something important that I want to share.

It’s not goodbye, its just see ya later. 

3 responses to “Pre-departure post: Alicante bound

  1. Brittney, wishing you safe and enjoyable travels. You are an amazing young woman, who is not only beautiful, but intelligent and talented. Enjoy this time and soak up every minute of it; you will forever be rewarded from the experiences and the journey. I wish you all the best in this next chapter of your life…you’re going to do great! Blessings to you…we’re praying for you! And remember to have Fun too =)

  2. Buenos dias desde Columbia, Missouri! Thanks for your kind words Brittney! I agree with you! Saying good bye to family anf friends is always hard…no matter how many times you have done it! Saludos! Miguel

Leave a Reply

