Mi casa es su casa

By Brittney Durbin

Now that I have been here for about a month, I finally feel settled in enough to share about my “home.”

One of the steps on my pre-departure checklist was to preference which housing accommodations I wanted. There were many different types of homestays, ranging anywhere from the average family with a mother, father and two kids to even living with a single mom, who could be  considered a senior citizen by U.S. standards. There was also an option to live in the dorm near campus, which is what I decided was the best fit for me.

Front door

Kitchen area

Once you enter the front door, you see the kitchen, which is shared between the two people who live in the suite.  There are also two inner doors leading off from the kitchen. However, once you enter one of the inner doors, it turns into the residence’s own space.

The entry way

My bed, with photos of my favorite people above

Closet

Desk area

Storage/snackage

Honestly, one of the best things I did was bring my own blanket, as well as have pictures of my family, friends and boyfriend. It’s so hard being away from home, and having these little pieces to remind myself of what is waiting for me when I return makes me feel so much better. Plus, the sheets and bed are a little uncomfortable, and I’m obsessed with pink so obviously I needed a little splash of it for my room.

Bathroom

Tiny little shower

Vanity

Also a bonus of living in the dorm is having my own bathroom. A lot of people who do homestays have to take timed showers, and share with their whole family.

However, as with anything in life, there are pros and cons. I like the connivence of the dorm, but I know I am missing out on understanding Spanish culture to the degree of the people who do homestays. Also, one of my big flaws is that I am an extremely picky eater, so having the dinning hall  in the dorm is ideal for me. If I don’t like something I just don’t eat it, whereas in a homestay, I would be afraid of offending the family. But, I also miss out on the atmosphere of eating meals with a family.

It is all about personal preference when it comes to this sort of thing.  Dorm life suits me, whereas someone else might hate it.

Well, I am off to start packing! We leave for Granada in the morning, and I still have laundry to do.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

