Rain, rain, go away….

By Brittney Durbin

Unfortunately, our trip to Murcia was post-poned until next week, so I have nothing of great excitement to talk about for this week.

Also, to add insult to injury, it rained every day this weekend! I was planning on going to the beach, but so much for that idea.

I did, however, have a relaxing weekend in. I slept a fair amount, did a lot of Pinteresting, and enjoyed long conversations with my family via FaceTime.

I will say that, when given the opportunity, I think a little R and R is a good idea, no matter what country you’re in. I had been so caught up in the life around me that I forgot to take a second to just breathe.

Admittedly, this is often hard, especially when you have a to-do list that’s a hundred tasks long. I guess this is something I have tried adopting from the Spanish culture.

You see, the people here have this expression: “No pasa nada.” Essentially, it means “no worries,” but the kicker is they apply it to EVERYTHING.

The Spaniards run on a time-table all their own. For example, sometimes my classes will start 15 minutes late, but then instead of ending on time, the teacher will keep us that extra quarter of an hour.

It drives me crazy!

However, when applying this ideal that you should just take life as it comes, I really admire the Spanish culture. I am such a planner; I try to figure out everything before I do something. I am coming to the realization though that life doesn’t always work that way. I get really stressed very easily, and being here has shown me that life doesn’t always have to run a million miles an hour.

Sometimes its nice to just sit and enjoy the rain, even if it means not seeing the sun.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

