P Sherman, 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney

By Brittney Durbin

I must say, the past 10 days have been my most recent highlight of my study abroad experience! I will share in chronological order though, so stay tuned as I update you on the happenings of my current travels.

Last Friday (Nov. 9), CIEE took the liberal arts group on a day trip to Valencia. Now, when they shared we would be traveling here I was very curious as to what we would be seeing. However, as soon as I found out that Valencia has a Starbucks, and also houses Europe’s largest aquarium, called Oceanográfic, I quickly became excited.

First things first… If you didn’t get the “Finding Nemo” reference in my title, I highly suggest you quickly close this blog and go watch it. It’s definitely a must-see movie.

Anyway, the aquarium was filled with beautiful fish and an assortment of creatures that you don’t often have the opportunity to see.

Also, Oceanográfic is so large that there are several buildings that span over the course of the property. We had to walk from building to building just to see all the different creatures.

Nemo!

Dory! (Well, many Dorys, to be technical)

Jellyfish

Also, to top off the whole “Finding Nemo” theme (even if they didn’t do it on purpose) the aquarium even had this creepy guy to the right….

Although I came to Spain to learn more about the culture, seeing cathedrals every field trip does get slightly redundant after awhile.

It was so nice to do something different, and plus I love going to the zoo so this was right up my alley.

Also, I enjoyed a lovely white chocolate mocha at the local Starbucks while we were in Valencia. Between that and Oceanográfic, I was one happy girl.

Plus, the next day Zachary (my boyfriend) arrived! So all in all, it was a fabulous weekend.

I have many photos from our trip to London, and also a couple good stories from our first adventure abroad as a couple. But for now, I say until next time! (a.k.a. tomorrow).

P.S. We did go to yet another cathedral while in Valencia.

Leave a Reply

