Day 1: Guten tag!

By Brittney Durbin

Hello friends!

This past week was super crazy with finals/traveling, but now that I am just about done with all my school obligations, I can finally share my Germany experiences!

My friends and I departed Alicante in the wee hours of the morning last Saturday, Dec. 8. This was an adventure in and of itself because I took RyanAir for the first time. Now if anyone is unfamiliar with this company, it is famous for having amazingly cheap flights. In fact, I paid less than $100 dollars round trip, but yet again it was one of those “you get what you pay for” type things. The seats were super uncomfortable, they have very strict guidelines on the bags you can bring, and they PACK these planes full. Although it was not as horrible as I had expected, it definitely wasn’t like riding U.S. Airways or another big airline company.

City Center!

City center!

Once we arrived, we had to take an hour and a half bus ride to Munich, which was nice because it meant I got to sleep more (yay!). After walking a bit we finally made it into the city center, where we were greeted with Christmas Markets and this lovely building! It was simply amazing, and I now understand why everyone tries to go to Germany around this time of year.

After shopping a bit, my friends and I made our way to our hotel, which was a little bit outside the city. Public transportation was easy to maneuver, especially since it was very similar to the London Tube type of system. Plus, everyone was very helpful and the people at the information desks even spoke English!

While on the topic of language, this was the first time in my life that I visited a country in which I had no clue what anyone was saying to me. In Spain, although my Spanish is far from perfect, I understand enough to get around or to be able to ask someone for directions, and in London everyone spoke English (obviously). However, this was not the case in Germany. It was really interesting and delightful to hear something unfamiliar, and, despite being unable to understand the people, we managed to have a fabulous time.

Anyway, back to the more exciting things.

IMG_0982That night my friends and I ventured over to the Hofbräuhaus, which is a famous attraction in Munich. Between its traditional manner of eating, as well it’s mouth-watering German food, this place exceeded my expectations! It was really neat to scout out a table, and then just join other people for dinner. The family next to us was celebrating the son’s birthday, so they were delightful company.

IMG_0980After finishing dinner, we made our way back to the Christmas Markets/city center to see what it was like at night. Boy, was it beautiful! This tree was so tall! It took my breath away (or that could have been the cold…). Nevertheless, my friends and I roamed the center looking at all the crafty things, and well as enjoying even more food! I myself loved the crepes, which had Nutella and banana in them. Also, the bratwurst was spectacular! I discovered that I am a huge fan of German food, as well as just the general atmosphere of the restaurants.

Unfortunately, my camera batteries died early on in the trip, so just about all of the photos are from my iPhone. Honestly, I probably would have taken the same number of pictures even if it had been working, because it was so cold that my fingers would freeze after snapping just a couple!

Tomorrow I will write about day two, but I must warn you that the post will not be as fun or lighthearted as this one. You see, my friends and I decided to visit a concentration camp, and I think that it was one of the most horrific and eye-opening experiences of  my entire life.

Anyway, I’ll elaborate more on that tomorrow, but I just wanted to give a heads up.

Until next time!

One response to “Day 1: Guten tag!

  1. Visited Munich ast year. Amazing city🙂.

Leave a Reply

