Day 3: A hop, skip and a jump away!

By Brittney Durbin

So day three of our Germany adventure actually didn’t take place in Germany because….

We went to Austria!

IMG_1193

Salzburg, Austria, is just a hop, skip and a jump away from Munich, so my friends and I hopped on the train to add yet another country to our passports! (Hypothetically of course, because you don’t get another stamp if you stay in the EU).

Anyway, it was a very easy and carefree travel day. You see, for about 30 Euros you can buy a Bayern pass, which allows up to five people to travel together on one ticket. We hopped on the train at the main station in Munich, and in about two hours arrived in Salzburg. The train itself was very nice, with comfortable seats and everything. Plus, the scenery was BEAUTIFUL! We passed by many quaint, German towns, and at one stop these little kids were even having a snowball fight with train! It was quite adorable, really.

The Alps!

The Alps!

Also, passing by the gorgeous, snow-capped Alps was incredible. Its not like I’ve never seen mountains before or anything; I have been to Colorado and also went skiing a couple times while I lived on the East Coast. But these mountains, the Alps, really gave the ones in the U.S. a run for their money. It was just so breathtakingly gorgeous, and spectacular, that seeing those alone made the trip to Salzburg worth it.

Now, I say that light-heartedly because Salzburg itself was also amazing! I’ll continue on with the sharing, so you can get a little taste of Austria too.

Yum!

Yum!

Speaking of taste, the first thing my friends and I ate when we arrived was a Mozartschmarrn, which is this delicious dessert with a ton of chocolate and marzipan. And when I say a ton, I really mean it. The guy serving us loaded this thing up with chocolatey goodness. He also gave us some sort of sauce to put on it as well. He was so friendly, too!

Now, I should back-track a bit and discuss where we got this wonderful dessert. If anyone has ever been to Germany/Austria it will come as no surprise that we were at the Christmas Markets! Not to play favorites, but I like the one in Salzburg much better that the market in Munich. I suppose that the Salzburg market was more like what I pictured them to be in the first place.

Welcome Sign!

Welcome Sign at the Christmas Market!

You see, in Munich the stalls just line the main avenue in between where all the big stores are. So you can shop H&M, for example, and then walk outside and buy a handmade ornament or other Christmas Market item. However, in Salzburg the Christmas Market is in the City Center, and it is decorated and has a big Christmas tree right in the middle. Plus, the market in Salzburg seemed much bigger than the one in Munich, and with more things to choose from.

River running through Salzburg.

River running through Salzburg.

We roamed around the market for about two hours, and then went and grabbed some hot cocoa in a cafe to warm up a bit. By the time we finished, it was already starting to get dark outside. So, we ran around taking a few more pictures before the sun went completely down (like this one).

Unfortunately,my friends and I did not have enough time to see all the interesting Mozart places, such as his house. Or any of the “Sound of Music” spots. The last train left the station at 9:09, but to play it safe, we jumped on the 8:09 train and returned back to Munich.

I decided that one day in Salzburg is definitely not enough, and if given the opportunity, I would love to go back. It was a beautiful place, and the people were so friendly.

The next day we woke up, caught the bus and then the plane. We ended up having an hour delay because it was snowing so hard, but my friends and I ended up falling asleep as soon as we sat down. All that traveling and sightseeing makes a person tired!

It is hard to believe that was only a little over a week ago! Time has been flying, and I can’t wrap my head around the fact that in less than 48 hours, I’ll be on a plane back home!

This has truly been the most amazing experience, and although I am so ready to be home, its bittersweet to see this adventure come to a close.

Between all my packing and such, the next post will likely be from my parents’ living room!

Until next time!

One response to “Day 3: A hop, skip and a jump away!

  1. Such a beautiful post. I loved those pictures. I am planning to go to Salzburg myself, next year. Let’s hope it works out!🙂

    Best Wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

