Welcome home

By Jantsen McBride

As I sit writing my last blog post, it is from the comfort of my bedroom in Kansas City. A week ago, I was packing up and getting ready to leave England. What a difference one week makes! I have settled back in to my former American lifestyle which consists of sleeping, eating and repeating. I had a lovely surprise visit from two of my best friends from college, and I have begun working at the salon again. My sleep schedule is completely out of whack and I wake up at 6:30 a.m. with failure to fall back asleep. As I adjust to being back home I have come to notice some of the things I missed while abroad. Poptarts, cookie dough and mac & cheese sit at the top of the list. But seriously, the fact that I can drive anytime and not stand out in the cold waiting for a bus is pretty great. And having a dishwasher and dryer in the house absolutely rocks. However, I truly do miss England. It became a part of who I am and shaped me into a more independent and self-sufficient individual. As I prepare to go back to the Zou, I look forward to incorporating my new found experiences into my American college lifestyle. While England will always hold a very special place in my heart, I am happy to be home. Thank you for letting me share my experiences abroad with you and I am honored to have had the opportunity to blog about my fall semester abroad in Lancaster.

Carly and I at her dance recital back at home in good ol' KCMO.

Carly and I at her dance recital back at home in good ol’ KCMO.

Until we meet again,

Jantsen

Leave a Reply

