Image

Roma: La Cittá Eterna

By Laura Hough

The second weekend in Italy, I went to Rome with three other girls from my program. Rome is a 2-3 hour train ride from Perugia, and we left at 7 a.m. This was my first experience on the Italian train system, and I was really glad one of the girls I was with had done it before. For a regional train, you don’t even have to buy your tickets early. Just check times online, then get there about half an hour ahead to purchase the ticket. We did make a little mistake — online, tickets were from 9 euro, and we ended up paying 19 euro. We were, however, on a nicer (read: quieter and smoother) train with plugins and comfy seats. Our train ride home on Sunday was much cheaper, but a lot noisier and less comfy. For Italian trains, always, always, always remember to validate your ticket — you do it after you purchase it, in a little machine in the station or out by the tracks. If you don’t, you get a fine. In Rome, we saw St. Peter’s Basilica, the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel, and the Borghese Gallery, where many of Bernini’s sculptures are housed. Unfortunately, it was a little rainy, so that definitely dampened our spirits, as well as kept us from doing more of the outdoor activities. We still had excellent pizza and bruschetta one night, and some delicious gelato as well. I really liked Rome, and I can’t wait to visit again. It’s definitely at the top of my list of amazing cities so far. Hope you enjoy my pictures!

St. Peter's Basilica is breathtaking! Even the pictures don't do it justice. Definitely a must-see in Rome, in Italy, in the world.

St. Peter’s Basilica is breathtaking! Even the pictures don’t do it justice. Definitely a must-see in Rome, in Italy, in the world.
We climbed to the top of the cupola, and saw the entire city laid out below us. Definitely worth the 5 euro and 500 steps.

We climbed to the top of the cupola, and saw the entire city laid out below us. Definitely worth the 5 euro and 500 steps.

My favorite picture so far- a night shot of the basilica.

My favorite picture so far- a night shot of the Basilica.

Every where I went in Rome, I felt like everything I saw was ancient. These ruins (which, my apologies, I have no idea what they're called) were in a  piazza surrounded by shops.

Every where I went in Rome, I felt like everything I saw was ancient. These ruins (which, my apologies, I have no idea what they’re called) were in a piazza surrounded by shops.

The Vatican Museum has a whole room dedicated to vehicles the Pope has ridden in through history. This was my favorite.

The Vatican Museum has a whole room dedicated to vehicles the Pope has ridden in through history. This was my favorite.

The famous statue is in the Vatican Museum. I'm not very well informed on the subject of art history, but even I recognized this.

The famous statue of “The Thinker” is in the Vatican Museum. I’m not very well informed on the subject of art history, but even I recognized this one.

One response to “Roma: La Cittá Eterna

  1. My sister Laura! I am so glad you are living your dream and experiencing such wonderful things. You inspire to follow my own travel dreams. Who wouold’ve thought the girl from Lebanon, Mo. would go to Italy. Your semester sounds incredible and I cannot wait to have lunch and hear all about it when you come home. We all miss you a lot and Tau Beta isn’t the same without you. But I am so glad you are following your heart and seeing the world. I love and miss you! ITB

Leave a Reply

